Late Sardar Rangrao Odhekar, under the consultation with Late Sawaee Madhavrao Peshwa Started the construction of the present temple in the year 1780. The Temple is unique example of the architect of the time. The main temple was completed by the year 1792 and thereafter the sabhamandapa, the stilt round the temple and the fencing by the year 1799. The expert masons brought the blocks of the black best quality stone from Ramshej Hills near Nashik , tested each block in boiling milk before using it in the work of construction . The main structure of the temple stands in the middle of a walled enclosure with 96 pillars and entrance on the east through an arched portal. The ‘Kalash’ is made of 32 tons of gold. The stones were brought from Ramshej about 200 years ago and it took Rs. 23 lakhs and 2000 workers to build the temple in 12 years. The copper peak of the temple is gold-plated and looks ravishing by day and night as well.
In the Temple pooja is performed thrice a day.